People, Politicians and Pasture Grass

The year is almost over. No, I take that back. This year is as good as over. What the hell happened to it?

That’s a stupid question. I know what happened to it.

Working, loving, living, crying, laughing, sweating…that’s what happened to it. And just like that, I’m a mere two-plus months away from being on Medicare. Geez.

In some ways, I feel as young as the college students I teach. And in others, the aches I feel are much older than 21.

But it doesn’t seem possible it’s been 65 years. Until. Until I think…

…and I’m getting off track–the “what I got out of last week’s happenings” track.

Like, the best way to get an apology is to reach out to the person you believe owes you one. And if they act like they love you, you got your apology. Move on. The words will follow. Or not.

And for political relationships to work, they must abide by the fundamental rule of interpersonal ones–and that is–don’t go to bed angry. We wouldn’t have no stinkin’ Benghazi committee then. They would have kissed and made up with Hillary about a dozen hearings ago. The only good thing (in addition to Hillary’s bounce in the polls) that came out of last week’s side show was what should have gotten the “Best Meme of the Week” award…courtesy of Occupy Democrats.

Benghazi SAlly

But, most importantly, I now know for certain that people are a lot like pasture grasses.

pasture grassed

A little nurturing tames even the wildest.

pasture grasses refined II

About Pam Avery Printed

I graduated from the University of Georgia in 1972 with a major in journalism (public relations) and a minor in business (marketing). My experience for the last 40 years includes working in the corporate world (banking), the newspaper industry (advertising design and sales), owning and selling a restaurant, restoring and utilizing several old buildings on the property, teaching private dance and drama lessons for 20 years, free-lance writing for a national textile firm, publishing two children’s books, and ghost writing a book. My last tour of duty before beginning the current chapter was working as a reporter, photographer, and columnist for five weekly community newspapers. And now I teach...media writing at Columbus State University in Columbus Ga. I consider myself very fortunate--I get to be around intelligent, energetic and enthusiastic young people. What a joy. I believe the written word is one of the most powerful tools known to humankind. And now we have the ability to reach millions with a simple click of the mouse. Wow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to People, Politicians and Pasture Grass

  1. Ellouise Connolly says:

    Pam, I have a feeling that positive political relationships are a thing of the past in this country. Also feel our democracy is slowly going down the drain since corporations became “people”. It is hard to believe the amount of money that is poured into elections in this country. Good article!

  2. Vicki Glore says:

    The simple truth articulated so well. Thank you for my Monday morning blessing!

  3. joanncrtt says:

    As always, you make me smile. My life has truly been enriched by your friendship.

Leave a Reply

