I Just Don’t Get It…

…the compulsion to fight, tear down, and divide that is.

It’s been happening for a long time. From the late Jerry Falwell’s Moral Majority to Rush Limbaugh’s rants the Birthers, and the Tea Party, we have been an audience to a great American tragedy.  We have witnessed a conspiracy to divide our country in the name of God, liberty, and freedom. People with an agenda to obstruct have achieved their goal — all with the help of folks who have been led down a dangerous path.

I am not naive. I know — contrary to the belief of those who equate being American with being Anglo-Saxon — that we are a melting pot…not only of cultures but also of ideas. We the people have different opinions and, therefore, our elected officials do. But just as partners in a REAL relationship must agree to disagree, work together to find common ground, and respect one another’s opinion, so must our politicians do the same.

And the bottom line is that because of the political tactics of a few, many have and will continue to suffer.

I hear nothing but fault-finding and I see nothing but obstinacy.

Disagreement is good if it leads to compromise. But disagreement for the sake of disagreeing is lethal.

I now walk away from those who choose to participate in this negative behavior — whether friend or family. It is destructive and counter-productive. It is a total waste of time.

I urge those of you who agree to do the same.

Participate in the positive, fight for improvement, and reach for unity.

Shut out negativity, refuse to recognize divisive behavior, and ignore those who seek to destroy.

If you want to discuss ways to make things better, I will acknowledge what you say. Otherwise, I will not.

Because I learned a long time ago that the best way to end a worthless conversation is to stop talking.

 

 

 

 

About Pam Avery Printed

I graduated from the University of Georgia in 1972 with a major in journalism (public relations) and a minor in business (marketing). My experience for the last 40 years includes working in the corporate world (banking), the newspaper industry (advertising design and sales), owning and selling a restaurant, restoring and utilizing several old buildings on the property, teaching private dance and drama lessons for 20 years, free-lance writing for a national textile firm, publishing two children’s books, and ghost writing a book. My last tour of duty before beginning the current chapter was working as a reporter, photographer, and columnist for five weekly community newspapers. And now I teach...media writing at Columbus State University in Columbus Ga. I consider myself very fortunate--I get to be around intelligent, energetic and enthusiastic young people. What a joy. I believe the written word is one of the most powerful tools known to humankind. And now we have the ability to reach millions with a simple click of the mouse. Wow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Just Don’t Get It…

  1. Bill Sutley says:

    One of the few mass comm theories where I find some real-word relevance, Spiral of Silence, might also have some relevance here. Find out more at http://masscommtheory.com/theory-overviews/spiral-of-silence/ … This will *not* be on any test. 😉

  2. llewis01 says:

    I stopped commenting on political stuff awhile back. People seem to feel the need to slam someone on a personal level because they disagree with their political views. I won’t participate. God bless everyone, NO EXCEPTIONS!

  3. Mark King says:

    Looked you up to see if I could figure out how two people from a small rural community could have such differing opinions. Read a number of your works and still might not know the answer; but this blog spoke to me about my comments on social media. To paraphrase ” I have stopped talking” In a effort to shut down the negativity and the worthless talk I had engaged in recently. It changes nothing. Must give you credit for a great piece of writing. See we can agree on something.

    • What a surprise Mark. And thanks. Being from somewhere is not what forms our opinions and beliefs as much as where life has taken us does. We humans are very complicated in that way. And also quite simple. Thank you again for reading. Send me your email and I’ll add you to my contact list. I need to write some more. Been very busy with my students at CSU. Little time for anything else.

Leave a Reply

