The Violence Breaks My Heart

The violence breaks my heart.

Boys treat girls like garbage. Playmates plot to kill a friend after a sleepover. Assailants target children  going to buy ice cream.

And these are just the headlines from this morning.

What the hell are we doing in a country that has more than any other in the world?

And don’t start the blame game with me. There is no way to single out one group, one event, or one societal change that has created this turmoil.

Pointing fingers at one another is what we have a tendency to do. And that is exactly why we do not address any problems in our country. It is why we don’t get a damn thing done in terms of improving what needs to be improved.

It has become quite vogue to criticize. It is accepted to spend more time bashing than coming together to fight. It is no wonder that the rest of the world sees us as bumbling idiots who cannot take care of our business.

And we will make no headway economically, socially, or culturally until we unite.

But for the division, I do lay blame squarely on the heads of those who profit from the rift. If I could, I would unseat all the damn politicians who run on an agenda to disrupt and invalidate. Each and every one of them who spend all of their time denouncing the opposition rather than working together to achieve a better way to do things would be looking for a real job.

I have been writing about this for a decade now. I have had my mailbox run over more times than I can remember. I have been verbally assaulted in print and in public.

But you know what? I will not stop saying it.

If we the people want anything to get better, then we must stop doing what we want the media and our celebrity-style politicians to stop doing.

We must stop hating one another and tearing one another down.

We are supposed to be the United States of America — not the Screwed Up, Disjointed States of America.

Our stupidity is overwhelming.

The violence breaks my heart.

 

About Pam Avery Printed

I graduated from the University of Georgia in 1972 with a major in journalism (public relations) and a minor in business (marketing). My experience for the last 40 years includes working in the corporate world (banking), the newspaper industry (advertising design and sales), owning and selling a restaurant, restoring and utilizing several old buildings on the property, teaching private dance and drama lessons for 20 years, free-lance writing for a national textile firm, publishing two children’s books, and ghost writing a book. My last tour of duty before beginning the current chapter was working as a reporter, photographer, and columnist for five weekly community newspapers. And now I teach...media writing at Columbus State University in Columbus Ga. I consider myself very fortunate--I get to be around intelligent, energetic and enthusiastic young people. What a joy. I believe the written word is one of the most powerful tools known to humankind. And now we have the ability to reach millions with a simple click of the mouse. Wow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Violence Breaks My Heart

  1. jcopland@mchsi.com says:

    Pam,

    I, too, grieve with you, but I am encouraged–and agree with–by your advice to accent the positive and unite to make the difference.

    Today, I also found three other terrific columns: one about Tybee Beach/Orange Crush; another, about Georgia politicians and abortion; and the priceless Lysistrata solution.

    Oh, and the spring break: The beautiful black stallion racing on the beach and the blue bird; two of my favorites, too.

    What do you feed your bluebirds?

    Many thanks! Jean

    • You are such an inspiration for me…thanks for being such a wonderful cheerleader. As for my bluebirds, I put out plain old birdseed…of course, being out in the country, there are plenty of other tidbits around.

Leave a Reply

