Well, A Girl CAN Change Her Mind…

…which is what I have done often both professionally and personally – with no regrets whatsoever.

 The changes have been big and little, easy and hard, happy and sad; but all of the stops and starts have been part of a journey that now has taken yet another twist in the road. Forty years ago (March 1972), I graduated from the University of Georgia. Now it is Spring Semester 2012, and I am enrolled in the Masters of Journalism program at The University of Memphis – and all the course work is done online.

Granted, none of that is too extraordinary – starting over at 60 is becoming fairly commonplace. Just do a search and see how many books have been written on the subject. The extraordinary fact is that I, or perhaps more appropriately, we, are so automated that I can sit in my office at Jones Crossroads, Georgia, take a class from a professor sitting in Memphis, Tennessee, and converse with classmates scattered all over the map.

For the more technically savvy, this is not something that charges your excite-o-meter; but for someone who resisted getting a microwave, it is event-changing. I am one of those dinosaurs who prefer talking to a person face-to-face over tweeting, e-mailing, “friending”, or speed dialing, but I realize super sonic communication is the way of the world now. I may prefer personal appearances to blogging, but there were plenty of copyists who did not want Gutenberg’s printing press to catch on either…and look how stupid they look now. And stupid is not a trait for which I wish to be remembered.

The media revolution calls me now just as the Civil Rights Movement did in the 1960’s and continues to do so in the 21st Century. The medium by which the message is sent has changed, but I am still Pam Avery, Printed.

About Pam Avery Printed

I graduated from the University of Georgia in 1972 with a major in journalism (public relations) and a minor in business (marketing). My experience for the last 40 years includes working in the corporate world (banking), the newspaper industry (advertising design and sales), owning and selling a restaurant, restoring and utilizing several old buildings on the property, teaching private dance and drama lessons for 20 years, free-lance writing for a national textile firm, publishing two children’s books, and ghost writing a book. My last tour of duty before beginning the current chapter was working as a reporter, photographer, and columnist for five weekly community newspapers. And now I teach...media writing at Columbus State University in Columbus Ga. I consider myself very fortunate--I get to be around intelligent, energetic and enthusiastic young people. What a joy. I believe the written word is one of the most powerful tools known to humankind. And now we have the ability to reach millions with a simple click of the mouse. Wow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Well, A Girl CAN Change Her Mind…

  1. I definitely prefer face to face as well! I don’t think that will ever change.. but as we become more social via the internet, we become less social in a sense – in our neighborhoods, in our communities and in our homes even !

  2. What is it “they” say – browse responsibly?

  3. minniehill says:

    It takes less to make me happy. Driving along the parkway today, I couldn’t help but notice the “quick set-ups” of vendors, hawking overly large stuffed teddy bears each adorned with bright red ribbon collars, choking tightly to the faux fur around their necks. Mylar balloons with impish tweeties displayed prominently, boastfully blowing pretend kisses my way. These objects, all magically holding the eternal torch of love for just $8.99. Pink fuzzy pillows, coverlets, coffee cups, pencils done up in red and white hearts, key chains, cheap chocolates, and last but not least, wilted orchids. Anything, everything, all for Love. Tommorrow the vendor will be gone, ready to hit the next town. the next “highly overrated” holiday. Would that be St. Patricks? Yes, the vendor will head over to Dublin. Georgia that is. He has a trailor load full of green plastic necklaces, and he’s hoping for a big rush on shamrocks too.

  4. Karen Erwin-Brown says:

    you go girl. excited for you. visit my blog at rivgarden.blogspot.com to see what us 58 year olds are doing.

Leave a Reply

